The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday declared Mr Solomon Bonu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as winner of the Lagos State House of Assembly Constituency 1 seat in Badagry.

Bonu was the former Special Adviser to Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu on Tourism, Arts and Culture.

Prof. Oluwatoyin Ayoola, the Returning Officer for Badagry Constituency 1, declared the results at about 8.50 a.m. at INEC Collation Centre in Ibereko, Badagry.

He said that Bonu secured 18, 776 votes to beat his closest opponent, Mr Gbenga Fayemi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who got 3,233 votes.

The returning officer said that other parties that contested in the election scored as follows: LP, 718 votes, ADC, 34 votes; ADP, 97 votes; APM, 24 votes and NNPP 12 votes.

Ayoola said that 96,064 voters registered at the Constituency 1, while 29,966 were accredited to vote.

He added that total valid votes were 29,435, rejected votes were 531, while 29,966 were total votes cast.

“Solomon Bonu Sannu of APC, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and returned elected,” Ayoola said.

Reacting to his victory, Bonu thanked the people of Badagry for coming out en masse to vote for him.

He promised to give his people quality representation and facilitate more projects to Badagry from the state and Federal Government.

Bonu said the victory was achieved through the hard-work of party members in Badagry.

He commended INEC officials and security operatives for doing a good job.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here